Who do I think I am? Well I’ve got answers now.

My AncestryDNA results came back, and I was a little surprised by the result. If you read the post I made when I put the tube-o-spittle in the mail, you’ll see that my original guess was

  • England/British Isles I’m guessing 55-75%
  • Ireland 5-25%
  • Western Europe (German) 10%
  • Southern European 0-5%
  • Native American 0-5%

The actual results were:

  • 43% Ireland
  • 35% Great Britain
  • 5% Europe West
  • 5% European Jewish
  • 5% Finland/Northwest Russia
  • 2% Scandinavia
  • <1% Italy/Greece
  • <1% Europe East
  • <1% Iberian Peninsula

My top two guesses were pretty close. I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of Native American heritage – not because there is anything wrong with Native American Heritage, just that it would mean I screwed up on my family tree somewhere if there actually were some, as the rest of the family seems to believe. Mostly the rest of this makes sense, although I have some new questions:

Where is the Jewish connection in my family? I’m really curious about this.

The farthest back I can get in my mother’s paternal line is a guy named Lorenzo who lived in Liverpool, England at the height of the Atlantic Slave trade. Was he perhaps descended from Portuguese slavers?

I’m clearly descended straight from Socrates and Alexander the Great since I’m <1% Italian/Greek, however I’m wondering if this has anything to do with my 15th great grandfather being a papal notary. Or does it have to do with the Romans and their conquest of the Celtic peoples long, long before that?

Finland/Scandinavia fit in well with the stories of England/Scotland being invaded by Vikings. Specifics pls.

The cool thing is that Ancestry found like 50+ 3rd and 4th cousins of mine genetically, and our family trees all look eerily similar. It makes me think the records at the very least point in the right direction. Hooray!

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

