Learning to bake with daddyPrimate: Soda Bread

26tp4examjdkott4q

It probably took about 6 hours of work on Ancestry.com to find out that not only am I American AF, but I’m about as “American” as it gets without being Native American. My dad’s family was here before the United States, and before they were here they were in Scotland. Mom’s family showed up just in time to fight dad’s family in the Civil War, and they came from Prussia (Straslund, now Germany) and Ireland’s County Cork.

j6etmy2rjwmho

One of the reasons I wanted to start baking was to find some semblance of a cultural heritage (beyond being American AF), and I don’t think a loaf of bread could get more Irish than Soda Bread. Hell, one of my old coworkers from Korea who is IRISH AF has spent some time figuring out how to make soda bread without being able to buy buttermilk, so there must be something cultural about it. Basically, I’m assuming that Soda Bread is Irish AF. (There’s a theme going here with the AF. All the kids use it these days, so I will too.)

3oxrmvu3gajay6f60g

Anyhow, the recipe was basic, flour, baking soda, salt, and buttermilk. Sift the dry ingredients together, add the buttermilk, stir until the dough comes together, form into a ball, plop on a baking sheet, bake for “30 minutes.” It wasn’t quite brown enough at 30 minutes, but I took it out and tapped it like a drum. It was hollow so I let it cool and cut into it. I could tell right away there was a raw spot as the knife got stuck. I stuck it back in the oven for five minutes more. Nope. Another five minutes. Nope. Finally giving up because we had already eaten the potato and leek soup I made to go with the bread, I pulled it out and cut out the raw spot.

My first try at soda bread. Sounds hollow. I guess we will see when we rip it open. #bread #baking #irish

A post shared by Charlie (@daddyprimate) on

Aside from the raw spot, it tasted pretty great. I think next time I’m just going to start checking for doneness at 30 minutes and let it brown a bit more, but what a great bread! You can have this lump of delicious on your table in about an hour, maybe less if your oven cooks faster…and it’s IRISH AF.

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

