Learning to bake with daddyPrimate: Plain white loaf

Plain old loaf of white #bread so we can have sandwiches this week. #baking #food

A post shared by Charlie (@daddyprimate) on

After a week of cakes, it’s back to bread. I thought I’d go kinda no-frills and do the plain white loaf for sandwiches type of bread. So I opened up How to Bake by Paul Hollywood, got out my bread flour, butter, salt, yeast, and some water, and got to mixing, by hand. Once the dough came together I kneaded and kneaded until it had a silky outer skin, then let it rise for about 3 hours. After reshaping it, taking out all of the air, and forming it into a sausage shape I let it prove for about an hour in its tin, and popped it in the oven with some water for steam.

xt77xkxcpqxizqurwk

I haven’t cut it open yet, but it has risen. RISEN I TELL YOU. And it’s big enough for sandwich slices. I’m excited. SO EXCITED. I have made bread! TO MY OWN SATISFACTION!

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

