daddyPrimate’s return to fitness: My garage gym is terrifying.

8u9fkcjasjtlg

The first year of being a daddy added quite a bit of weight to my otherwise trim figure. Like 40 lbs. I started running a few months ago, and the bulk of it is gone, but with the new year mommyPrimate and I cleaned out the garage and set up a little home gym.

It terrifies me.

We have a flat bench, and a basic (very basic) set of free weights. The adjustable kind that you load onto the bar and screw down a clamp to hold together. 100% cast iron, like our favorite cookware. Very old. Like, I reclaimed it from being thrown out when my mom and her husband moved out of their old house.

Tonight, after my baby girl went to sleep, I snuck out to the garage for a workout. Things were going pretty great, really, when suddenly one of the clips on the end of one of the dumbbells lost its grip and sent a couple of cast iron plates to the floor.

I could have been injured, maimed, died, or even worse. That shit could have woken up my baby girl. If that’s not terrifying, I don’t know what is.

That said, I feel great.

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

One thought on “daddyPrimate’s return to fitness: My garage gym is terrifying.”

Leave a Reply

