Learning to bake with daddyPrimate: Boule of yawn, the uninspiring third loaf

As I cut the second half of the dough I made in two and formed my third boule, I could already feel the letdown. I’m not sure if the dough had over-proofed or what, but the texture had changed a bit. It was all a bit dryer. The dough is supposed to keep well for up to ten days in the fridge, but it wasn’t the same consistency as the prior loaf.

Figuring that the likelihood of any real difference in quality was pretty low, I formed the shit into a ball, let it rise for 90 minutes, and tossed it in the oven, just as I had with the prior two loaves. It rose better than the first loaf, not as well as the second, and had very large air holes around the top.

tgzrcbaphcxxm

I didn’t even cut into it. How much bread can you eat in a short span? We had the first loaf with dinner the night it was baked, the remnants of that loaf and all of the second loaf as french toast (not bomb-ass french toast, as promised) for breakfast and by this point another loaf of whole-wheat bread just didn’t fit into our dinner plans.

I’m going to wait a few more days before baking the fourth loaf, because the recipe says more flavor develops. I’m hoping for sourdough or nacho cheese. πŸ˜‰

On another baking note, check out this amazing olive-oil cake made by mommyPrimate! It’s flavored with orange zest, juice, and nutmeg, and made with olive oil produced by an Israeli/Palestinian food coop. It tastes like hope and dreams of peace. Plus almonds!

I’m still confident about learning to bake and that I will have beautiful bread (well, the boules I’ve made are pretty, they just aren’t as light as I want) and cakes and such in the near future. I have an amazingly skilled partner who knows the basics, and the fire of a thousand ovens in my soul to make it happen.

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

One thought on “Learning to bake with daddyPrimate: Boule of yawn, the uninspiring third loaf”

Leave a Reply

