Learning to bake with daddyPrimate: What a crock of Boule.

I’d say the time when I ate the healthiest was when mommyPrimate and I lived in Korea. You see in Korea you’d often be asked “do you like bread, or rice?” because the good lord above knows that no one could possibly ever like both.

At any rate, the bread available in stores was largely crap, and mommyPrimate became quite the baker making our weekly bread in a tiny little convection oven we bought on GMarket for like $30.

1zirljjaujaqa

Anyhow, as we approached the new year and became obsessed with The Great British Baking Show (because who isn’t obsessed with it?) I had the thought that maybe if we were going to indulge in the crusty carb-y goodness of breads we should bake them ourselves.

mb16kkj4hpd16

So this morning I manned up and fired up the stand mixer, let my dough proof, misshaped a rough ball, and then called mommyPrimate over to fix it into a nice dough ball, preheated the oven and all that, and slid my first loaf (oh god. “slid my first loaf” heh!) into the oven, and let it go.

This is what came out of the oven, and I don’t think it’s too shabby for my first attempt at bread. Perhaps if I had involved mommyPrimate a little more (and I should have, honestly I’ve never been the best at using my resources effectively) it would have been a bit prettier.

At any rate, the house smells like fresh bread, and my daughter is fighting her afternoon nap with the determination of a Samurai, so I’ll leave you wondering if it turned out edible or not. (It’s still got to cool, calm the heck down.)

Author: Charlie

Thirty-something husband and father. Aspiring baker. Decent cook. Childish humorist. General enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

